Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Bashar
      Keymaster
          @bashar

We’ll leave this discussion more open as we’re getting near the end of the course and you may want a little more freedom to talk about what you want, but some possible questions to answer are:

• Are there any mobile apps that you think (might) work well in an EAP context?
          • Are there any ideas suggested in the unit so far that you might like to try out with your EAP students?
          • If you are teaching online, how can mobile devices support your teaching and your students’ learning?
          James Hanlon
          Participant
              @jameshanlon

When I did my masters, I found it frustrating that my classmates would often spend entire lectures on phones. In seminars, it was less common, but still happened and was rude above all. Phones are distracting, there’s no doubt, but they are also so useful. I can understand why some teachers would ban them. They are great (and necessary) for Kahoot. Even messaging apps like Wechat are useful to use in class, ss can send each other documents they’ve lost and the teacher could use a group chat to communicate with all ss while in BO rooms if using a platform that doesn’t allow it (although teachers being in group chats is, for some dubious reason imo, discouraged from a welfare perspective).

Catherine Lewis
              Participant
                  @catherine21

Mobile phones are a tool that the majority of students have and can use so they can be very useful as a tool for learning. If a students does not have  a mobile phone, then they can always work with another student. If lectures were more engaging and student focused then students would be less likely to be looking at their mobile phones.  Also, it is not only students who are addicted to phones but teachers also often look at their phones when teaching. I have only really encouraged them to be used as dictionaries and for research purposes.